The Green Composites Council created four task groups to tackle different problems in the world of composite recycling. The task groups will:

  • Establish a glossary of terms and definitions related to composite recycling to simplify and standardize the nomenclature.
  • Compile a set of statistics on composite recycling.
  • Conduct surveys to determine the amount of scrap fiber that is wasted annually and the reasons that this waste is being generated. The group ultimately hopes to find ways to transition that waste fiber into other uses.
  • Establish a demonstration project to show real world uses for composite recycling.

The Transportation Structures Council (TSC) will attend the International Bridge Conference in Pittsburgh for the 15th consecutive year. The TSC will have an exhibit booth and conduct a technical workshop at the conference June 8-12. Additionally, the TSC is updating its website ( to include a searchable database of composite bridge installations that will feature more than 400 structures.

In addition to these individual projects, several committees have teamed up on initiatives. For instance, the Pultrusion Industry Council, Corrosion Control Division and High Performance Council are working together to develop a briefing to the Congressional Composites Caucus to report on the state of the industry and the challenges that composites can solve. The Composites Growth Initiative has also partnered with ITECS Innovative Consulting to deliver a weekly newsletter detailing government grant opportunities that are of interest to member companies.

CGI Committees
Architectural Division
Bill Kreysler, chair

 Automotive Composites Alliance
Terry O’Donovan, chair

 Corrosion Control Division
Steve Guay, chair

Fiberglass Grating Manufacturers Council
Aldred D’Souza, chair


FRP – Rebar Manufacturers
Cam Crawford, chair

Green Composites Council
Bob Moffit, chair

High Performance Council
Tom Hedger, chair

International Cast Polymer Alliance
John Webster, president

Press Molders Council
Steve Balogh, chair

 Pultrusion Industry Council
Glenn Barefoot, chair

Transportation Structures Council
David White, treasurer

 Utility and Communication Structures Council
Scott Holmes, chair