The Green Composites Council created four task groups to tackle different problems in the world of composite recycling. The task groups will:

  • Establish a glossary of terms and definitions related to composite recycling to simplify and standardize the nomenclature.
  • Compile a set of statistics on composite recycling.
  • Conduct surveys to determine the amount of scrap fiber that is wasted annually and the reasons that this waste is being generated. The group ultimately hopes to find ways to transition that waste fiber into other uses.
  • Establish a demonstration project to show real world uses for composite recycling.

The Transportation Structures Council (TSC) will attend the International Bridge Conference in Pittsburgh for the 15th consecutive year. The TSC will have an exhibit booth and conduct a technical workshop at the conference June 8-12. Additionally, the TSC is updating its website (compositesinfrastructure.org) to include a searchable database of composite bridge installations that will feature more than 400 structures.

In addition to these individual projects, several committees have teamed up on initiatives. For instance, the Pultrusion Industry Council, Corrosion Control Division and High Performance Council are working together to develop a briefing to the Congressional Composites Caucus to report on the state of the industry and the challenges that composites can solve. The Composites Growth Initiative has also partnered with ITECS Innovative Consulting to deliver a weekly newsletter detailing government grant opportunities that are of interest to member companies.

CGI Committees
Architectural Division
Bill Kreysler, chair
bill@kreysler.com

 Automotive Composites Alliance
Terry O’Donovan, chair
todonovan@coremt.com

 Corrosion Control Division
Steve Guay, chair
sguay@ershigs.com

Fiberglass Grating Manufacturers Council
Aldred D’Souza, chair
adsouza@fibergrate.com

 

FRP – Rebar Manufacturers
Council
Cam Crawford, chair
ccrawford@oregonbl.com

Green Composites Council
Bob Moffit, chair
rlmoffit@ashland.com

High Performance Council
Tom Hedger, chair
tomhedger@mvpind.com

International Cast Polymer Alliance
John Webster, president
john@monroeind.com

Press Molders Council
Steve Balogh, chair
stevenb@mar-bal.com

 Pultrusion Industry Council
Glenn Barefoot, chair
gbarefoot@strongwell.com

Transportation Structures Council
David White, treasurer
white.dave@sika-corp.com

 Utility and Communication Structures Council
Scott Holmes, chair
sholmes@ucsigroup.com